News and Honors


General Assembly 2022


The next General Assembly will be held in Berlin, Germany, from noon on Wednesday, October 5, 2022, through the afternoon of Friday, October 7, 2022.  On Tuesday, October 4, 2022 and the morning of Wednesday, October 5, 2022, Academy Fellows will conduct a series of seminars for Germany graduate and post-graduate students.  Additional information will be forthcoming when we are closer to the dates of the General Assembly.  Thanks to Fellows Jürgen Baumert and Olga Troitschanskaia for organizing and co-sponsoring the event.



The Academy is pleased to welcome four new Fellows.  They are:

  • Dr. Sigrid Biomeke, University of Oslo (Norway)
  • Professor Beatrice Ligorio, University of Bari (Italy)
  • Professor Ee-Ling Low, National Institute of Education (Singapore)
  • Professor Beno Csapo, University of Szeged (Hungary)


Eric Hanushek is a winner of the Yidan Prize, which honors individuals or teams that have significantly contributed to the theory and practice of education.  The Prize consists of a gold medal, a cash award of 15 million Hong Kong dollars, and a project fund of 15 million Hong Kong dollars.  Professor Hanushek intends to use the project fund to select and train fellows to support the development of a strong educational research network in Africa.



Stella Vosniadou has been elected a Fellow of the Cognitive Science Society.  She also serves as a corresponding member of the newly established Cypress Academy of Science, Literature, and the Arts, and has received the 2021 Career Achievement "Oeuvre" Award from the European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI).

Subscribe to this RSS feed